Measure 91 was approved by Oregonian voters on November 4th, 2014 legalizing the possession, use, and cultivation of marijuana for adults 21 and over. The measure, the “Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act”, orders the Oregon Liquor Control Commission to oversee and establish a new legal regulatory system for recreational cannabis. The OLCC will regulate and licenses marijuana businesses, as well as create rules for advertising, lab testing, DUID, etc.
This measure does not alter or affect the Oregon Medical Marihuana Act.
The law truly comes into effect July 1, 2015 when citizens are allowed to possess and cultivate cannabis. Until then, all possession, use, and growth are still illegal.
Possession and Growing:
Adults 21 and over are allowed to posses up to 8 ounces of marijuana at their home, or 1 ounce in public. They are also allowed to grow up to 4 plants in their home, out of view of public property (e.g. sidewalks, roads, turnpikes, etc).
The measure also sets a limitation on total possession and plants for the household. Meaning if you have 3 people in a home, the maximum number of plants allowed in the house is still 4. It also means you have to split the 8 ounces between everyone in the house. Landlords can restrict growing on their property if they see fit.
Adults may gift, but not sell, up to 1 ounce of marijuana(flowers, hash), 16 ounces of marijuana products in solid form (edibles), or 72 ounces of marijuana products in liquid form (tinctures, cooking oils, etc)
Every ounce at wholesale is taxed $35. The tax rate will be adjusted for inflation over time.
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission is in charge of making recommendations regarding possible revisions to DUI laws.
Currently, any amount of marijuana in the blood or urine will establish driving under the influence (Or. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 813.010.) The first conviction penalties include a fine between $1,000 and $6,250, at least 48 hours (or up to one year) in jail, or both — and at least 30 days of driver’s license suspension. Further convictions will lead to more severe penalties.
Where can I buy legal weed?:
No recreational stores have currently been licensed to open. Applications are set to be accepted by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission by January 4th, 2016.
How do I grow or sell cannabis commercially?:
There are four types of cannabis business licenses you can apply for: producers, processors, wholesales, and retailers. Producers are growers, processors are extract and edible makers, wholesalers are middlemen between the producers and retailers, and the retailers are the brick and mortar businesses that will sell cannabis to adults over 21.
A license may be obtained from the Oregon Liquor Control Commission for a fee of $250 initially, and $1000 per year. Applications for licenses will be accepted by the OLCC on January 4th, 2016.
See the official document for Measure 91 here (PDF): http://media.oregonlive.com/mapes/other/SP-2014-051.pdf
Read the MPP summary here: http://www.mpp.org/states/oregon/measure-91-summary.html