Guide to Alaska’s Legal Cannabis
Measure 2 was approved by Alaskan voters on November 4th, 2014, legalizing the possession, use, and cultivation of marijuana for adults 21 and over. The measure orders the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to oversee and establish a new legal regulatory system for recreational cannabis. The ABCB will regulate and licenses marijuana businesses, as well as create rules for advertising, lab testing, DUID, etc. A Marijuana Control Board may also be created if necessary to assume the duties and responsibilities related to marijuana regulation.
The law truly comes into effect 90 days after certification, approximately February 2015. Until then, all possession, use, and growth are still illegal.
Possession and Growing:
Adults 21 and over are allowed to posses up to 1 ounce in public. They are also allowed to grow up to 6 plants in their home, and a maximum of 3 plants flowering, out of view of public property (e.g. sidewalks, roads, turnpikes, etc) in a secure place. And they also allowed to posses all marijuana harvested from their plants at the location it was grown.
Landlords can restrict growing on their property if they see fit. And employers are not required to allow cannabis use on or off duty.
Adults may gift, but not sell, up to 1 ounce of marijuana and up to 6 immature (or vegetative) plants.
Smoking in Public:
Adults are not allowed to smoke in public. This will result in a $100 fine.
Every ounce at wholesale is taxed $50. The tax rate will be adjusted for inflation over time.
Laws regarding driving under the influence remain unchanged.
It is illegal to drive under the influence of any drug or substance that impairs the driver’s mental or physical capacities. Driving under the influence is considered a class A misdemeanor, with subsequent offenses leading to fines, jail time, and suspension of driver’s license.
Where can I buy legal weed?:
No recreational stores have currently been licensed to open. Applications are set to be accepted by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board approximately 9 months after the law is enacted.
How do I grow or sell cannabis commercially?:
There are four types of cannabis business licenses you can apply for: producers, processors, testing facilities, and retailers. Producers are growers, processors are extract and edible makers, testing facilities will test marijuana for safety and analyzation, and the retailers are the brick and mortar businesses that will sell cannabis to adults over 21.
License fees and regulations will be established by the ACBC.
See the full text of Measure 2 here: http://regulatemarijuanainalaska.org/full-initiative-text/
Read the MPP Summary here: http://www.mpp.org/states/alaska/a-summary-of-measure-2-an.html