Maryland has a medical marijuana program that allows for patients to posses up to a month’s supply and purchase it from state licensed dispensaries. Possession of less than 10 grams is decriminalized for all citizens, resulting in a fine up to $100.
Maryland originally had a medical marijuana law in place that protected patients charged possessing an ounce of cannabis from being convicted if they could prove medical necessity. In 2013, the House passed HB 1101, a research based program that depended on academic medical centers to provide cannabis to patients. These hospitals were reluctant to join the program, due to the possibility of losing federal funding from dealing a controlled substance.
On April 14, 2014, Gov. Martin O’ Malley signed two bills into law, HB 881 and SB 923, making Maryland the 21st state to legalize medical marijuana. The law fully came into effect on June 1, 2014. The law expanded upon the previous medical marijuana bill, establishing a system for registering patients and licensing dispensaries. It also allows patients to possess a 30 day supply of medical marijuana. Physicians may prescribe the patient medical marijuana if they fall under one of the qualifying conditions. Patients may designate a caregiver. And patients are not allows to cultivate at home, only state licensed cultivators have the right to grow medical marijuana.
List of qualifying conditions:
- Cachexia, Anorexia, or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic Pain
- Severe or persisitent muscle spasms