Kansas has no decriminalization, medicinal, or recreational laws in effect. Possession of any amount of cannabis is considered a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1000 and 1 year of jail time.

In 2016, bills have been introduced by both the House and Senate to lessen penalties of cannabis possession. Rather than a $1000 fine and one year jail time, they proposed half a year. A CBD bill, HB 2049, was introduced by Rep. John Wilson. And the Senate is considering it’s own CBD bill, SB 489. They will come to a compromise at the end of the legislative session.


Kansas’ Pending Cannabis Laws:

Other Iowa Resources: